About Me

The Basics

Kimberly Pauley
This is me, but with more makeup than I usually wear. And I’m usually not glowing.

My first book (Sucks to Be Me), came out in 2008 and was followed by the sequel (Still Sucks to Be Me). My husband calls my first book a “vampire bat mitzvah” story and he’s kind of right. That was followed by the book that is the most me (as in, the main character could be me if I could actually talk to cats other than in my head): Cat Girl’s Day Off. I had a great deal of fun writing that one, especially researching Ferris Bueller movie set locations (we lived in Chicago then, where the book is set). My next book was Ask Me, which I wrote after we moved to London. It’s set in the Florida that I grew up in (i.e. backwoods, not beaches). If you had ever asked me if I was going to purposely cram a bunch of symbolism into a novel, I would have laughed at you. I was that kind of English major (seriously, not everything is a phallic symbol and I find Ulysses unreadable and Thackeray unbearable). But, indeed, I did, so the last laugh is on me.

I was born in California and have lived across the United States (Arkansas, Florida, Mississippi, Kentucky, Illinois) and now live in the UK in the inimitable London, which has more history than you can shake a stick at, even (or perhaps especially) down random alleyways.

Me and the fam, trying to escape a dragon’s clutches (at Warwick Castle).

I am married to my college sweetheart (we’ve now been together longer than we’ve been alive separately which kinda blows my mind) and we have a son who is the coolest kid ever (I’m not kidding. He’s an electric guitar playing-fencing-computer addicted little man and he’s awesome).

We also have a dog named Marley J. Kravitz (my son named him after Bob Marley and Lenny Kravitz) who is not the sharpest tool in the shed but will cover you in dog kisses and fur and sit on your lap even though he’s a tad too big for that. I used to have cats, but they have passed on. I miss them terribly.

We live near Portobello Market, which I love (there’s even a song!), and I do most of my writing out and about in London. I’m often found at the British Library or at any one of dozens of coffee places in the city. Seriously. If you need coffee recommendations for London, I’m your girl.

Official Stuff

I am represented by Ben Illis of the Ben Illis Agency, who is perfectly lovely, if a tad bit tall (I’m pretty sure I only reach to somewhere around his elbow). If you’d like to enquire about rights or anything official like that, please do give him a shout.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Ask Me Anything

This is also me but with better hair than normal.

Have a question you’d like to know the answer to about me or my books? Ask away! Post it as a comment below (or hit me up on Twitter or Facebook) and I’ll answer it on my blog. Unless you want to know my pin number or password. Sorry, phish-y people. I may be slightly crazy, but I’m not stupid.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *